An Introduction

Hello & Welcome,

This is a brief introduction about me, my family & our experiences with coping with diabetes on a daily basis.

We have been living with D for nearly 3 and a half years now, my daughter Emily was diagnosed a week before her 2nd birthday back in August 2010.  She was very fortunate to be given a pump on the day of diagnosis.  Something we took for granted as we knew no different at the time.

I am Mark, 31 & best described as a little OCD.  Let me tell you something, if you want to make someone really OCD then just give them a diabetic child to care for.  This is the reason that I always feel like the last member of the #doc awake every night.

Emily is now 5 going on 15, she’s a healthy (minus the sleepy pancreas), active & opinionated child.  I wouldn’t have her any other way.  She has that youthful innocence that means she can get away with anything.

And then there’s Emily’s mum, Amy.  she has the most important role, she keeps me fed so I can survive on 4 hours sleep a night.

So why have I decided to start this blog?  Two reasons, my own sanity, i’m probably going to rant, moan and get a lot off my chest during those moments when D just makes you to want to scream.  But then there’s my 2nd reason.

When Emily was diagnosed there was no #doc, #OurD.  No community when you were feeling alone.  We were given no advice on charities, support groups & it was a scary, lonely time.  This blog is for all those people who felt like I did, to find a little hope when everything has got a little crap.  I found the online community on Twitter a year ago almost to the day.  We had been living with D for well over 2 years with no other interaction other than our clinic.  I would not want any other parent or newly diagnosed T1 to feel like that

Knowledge is Power

Thanks for reading 🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

